Banned NSFs barred from voting

The Indian Olympic Association’s Election Commission has removed the national federations banned by their respective international bodies from being the part of the Electoral College for the February 9 polls.

In a meeting held on Monday, the Election Commission debarred Indian Amateur Boxing Federation, Fencing Association of India and Taekwondo Association of India from being part of the Elective General Assembly.  

The members of these federations cannot cast vote or participate in the elections as per the International Olympic Committee (IOC) diktat.

The IOC, in a recent communication regarding the participation of IABF in elections, made it clear:“.. The IOC is of the opinion that the boxing federation in India should not participate in the elective general assembly of the suspended IOA on February 9 and should not be allowed to nominate any of its representatives,” IOC's National Olympic Committee (NOC) Relations Director, Pero Miro had stated in a letter dated January 31.

“The same approach should be followed for any other national federation currently suspended by its international federation.”

The members who will not be able to participate in elections are: Abhishek Matoria, Bhupinder Singh and Khoibi Salam (Indian Amateur Boxing Federation), Durga Das Boro, Rajendra Singh Rana, BY Dhankishan (Fencing Association of India),  Renu Mahant, Harish Kumar, Ajay Kumar (Taekwondo Association of India ).

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0