12 top performing MPs to be honoured

12 top performing MPs to be honoured

Twelve parliamentarians, among them three women, will be honoured with Sansad Ratna award here next week for their performance in the 15th Lok Sabha, said an official of Prime Point Foundation.

"We have been honouring top performers in the Lok Sabha for the past four years with Sansad Ratna award. Their performance is rated based on their participation in debates, introduction of private member bills and the number of questions raised in the Lok Sabha," K. Srinivasan, chairman, Prime Point Foundation, told IANS here Tuesday.

He said there are two categories of awardees - overall top performers and top performers among women (Sansad Mahila Ratna).

To a question whether he is jumping the gun as the 15th Lok Sabha is yet to come to an end, Srinivasan said: "The awardees are announced based on the data available till Dec 18, 2013. As per our estimates, there is no possibility of any other Lok Sabha member overtaking those on our list of awardees."

"If any such rare thing happens, then we will award that member later," he said.

The winners of Sansad Ratna award under the overall category are: Anandrao Adsul of the Shiv Sena from Maharashtra (total score 1,254); Arjun Ram Meghwal of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) from Rajasthan (score 1,147); Hansraj G. Ahir, BJP, Maharastra (1,111); S.S. Ramasubbu, Congress, Tamil Nadu (1,186);  Gajanan Babar, Shiv Sena, Maharashtra (1,150); Asaduddin Owaisi, AIMIM, Andhra Pradesh (1,121); Pradeep Kumar Majhi, Congress, Odisha (1,070); Shivaji Adhalrao Patil, Shiv Sena, Maharashtra (1,044); and Eknath Mahadeo Gaikwad, Congress, Maharashtra (,003).

The three women members of parliament (MP) who would be getting the Sansad Mahila Ratna award are: Supriya Sule of the Nationalist Congress from Maharashtra (score 771); Ratna Singh, Congress, Uttar Pradesh (689), and Rama Devi, BJP, Bihar (687).

"These are the beauty dozen of the 15th Lok Sabha. Out of the top 12 performers, six are from Maharashtra," Srinivasan said.

According to him, Adsul, Ahir and Ramasubbu have been top performers throughout the 15th Lok Sabha.

He said the MPs will be honoured at the Chennai Press Club Feb 22.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0