Cong internal polls on March 9

Draft voters' list on February 26; Final candidates' list on March 2

The much debated internal elections to elect the Lok Sabha Congress candidate to contest from Mangalore will be held on March 9, informed Congress Lok Sabha Returning Officer (LRO) Preniel Nair.

Addressing media persons at DCC office here on Saturday, he said that a total of 16 AROs (Assistant Returning Officers) and two ROs will prepare a voters list before 1 pm on February 25 and a draft voters list will be published on February 26. However, on February 27, the voters list will be verified and the ineligible voters’ names will be deleted.

The nominations will be be accepted from candidates in person on February 28 between 12 noon and 4 pm. Scrutiny will be done on the same day in front of the candidates and candidates list will be published in District Congress Office on the same day.

Stating that any objections may be filed before 1 pm on March 1, Nair said the final list of candidates will be published on March 2 at 1 pm.Interested candidates may pay a demand draft for Rs 10,000 and take part in the polls, however, there is no provision for withdrawal of candidature.

To a query, Nair said that there is no provision to opt for NOTA (None Of The Above) in the polls.

Interestingly, all eligible candidates will be given a time to address the eligible voters on the day of the poll (March 9) and hence, all voters will have to assemble at the venue on time (yet to be decided). The polling will begin soon after the ‘campaign’ and the results will be declared on the same day.

As on date, only two candidates - former Union minister B Janardhan Poojary and Union Minister M Veerappa Moily’s son Harsha Moily are going to contest in the primaries, the number of candidates may go up.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)