Govt to appoint 2 info commissioners

The government on Tuesday sought applications from eligible candidates to fill two vacant positions of Information Commissioners in Central Information Commission (CIC).

There are eight members working in the Commission besides Chief Information Commissioner Sushma Singh. The Commission is entitled to have up to ten commissioners and a Chief Information Commissioner. “It is proposed to appoint more Information Commissioners in the Commission.

The Act provides that the Information Commissioners shall be persons of eminence in public life with wide knowledge and experience in law, science and technology, social service, management, journalism, mass-media or administration and governance,” the government order said.

The last date for sending applications by eligible candidates to the DoPT is March 25.
In November last, the government had selected IAS officer Yashvardhan Azad, former diplomat Sharat Sabharwal, former IAS officer Manjula Prasher, former IAS officer M A Khan Yusufi and Madabhushi Sridhar Acharyulu, a professor, as Information Commissioners.

At that time, 422 people applied for the five posts. A shortlist of 15 was put up before the Prime Minister-led panel, which had the names of Law Secretary B A Agarwal. He did not make the cut.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)