8 of banned militant outfit get life sentence

Eight members of banned militant outfit Tamil Nadu Liberation Movement (TNLM), which attacked a police station at Puthur in Cuddalore district in 1991, were sentenced to life imprisonment by a special court here on Monday.

The court, however, set free one of the accused as he had already served seven years’ imprisonment. TNLM founder Suba Ilavarasan is also one of those sentenced to life on Monday.

Judge V Ramasamy of the special court for the exclusive trial of bomb blast cases, said all the charges have been proved against the accused, except for offences under the Explosive Substances Act. The prosecution put up a case that the TNLM members attacked Puthur police station on April 6, 1991, hacked a police officer to death and seriously injured three other personnel before fleeing with weapons stolen from the station.

Comments (+)