Congress trying to win back expelled Seemandhra MPs

Congress trying to win back expelled Seemandhra MPs

The Congress is trying to win back former union minister of state and MP A. Sai Prathap to its fold.

Prathap, who was one of the six MPs expelled from the party in February, met Congress general secretary Digvijaya Singh in New Delhi. The central leader Sunday had invited him for talks.

He is likely to return to the Congress and contest from Rajampet Lok Sabha constituency for a third consecutive term.

He and five other MPs from Seemandhra were expelled from the Congress for stalling the bill in Lok Sabha for bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.

He had joined Jai Samaikhya Andhra party floated by former chief minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy. He was planning to cross over to the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) but dropped the plans after the TDP left Rajampet seat for the Bharatiya Janata Party.

The Congress leadership is also reportedly trying to win back another expelled leader, G.V. Harsha Kumar, who is also a key player of Jai Samaikhya Andhra party.

Harsha Kumar was elected from Amlapuram Lok Sabha constituency in 2004 and 2009.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)