Nominations begin in Seemandhra

Nominations begin in Seemandhra

In all, 267 candidates are in fray for 17 Parliament seats in Telangana as against 2,223 candidates for 119 Assembly seats, after the withdrawals and scrutiny were completed on Saturday.

Announcing the final list, Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwar Lal said that Secunderabad with 34 candidates is the largest and Malkajgiri with 32 contestants in fray came next, whereas Nalgonda and Adilabad have nine candidates for the Lok Sabha contest.

Similarly, Kukkatpalle in Hyderabad has 35 contestants, Munugod in Nalgonda has 36, while Alampur (Mahbubnagar), Boath and Mudhole in Adilabad with six each were the lowest.

Lal said that notification for the second phase of polling in Seemandhra for 25 Parliament seats and 175 Assembly constituencies was issued on Saturday. With two holidays lined up, on April 14 (Ambedkar Jayanti) and April 18 (Good Friday), nominations commenced on a brisk note. The last date for filing nominations is April 19 and withdrawals can take place till April 23 with scrutiny on April 21.

He said as of now, the total electorate in Telangana was 2,81,66,266 (2.89 crore) and booth-level officers would commence distribution of voter slips to all eligible voters from April 15, he clarified, adding, “The indelible ink will be applied on the forefinger of the right hand in the general elections.”