Bidding adieu to friends

Last Updated 15 April 2014, 13:55 IST
Baldwin Women’s Methodist College recently conducted ‘Baccalaureate Service’ for its graduating students along with the ‘College Day’. 
The graduating students came draped in gorgeous white sarees.

The college choir led the ‘Call to Worship’. 
The chief guests, Bishop Taranath S Sagar, president and presiding bishop of SIRC and MRC, chairman Baldwin Institutions; Padma Sagar, president, Deaconesses Conference, SIRC and MRC; Indira Williams, manager of the college; Lydia P Samuel, principal; and Rev David Nathaniel, district superintendent, were escorted by the graduating students.

The principals of all the Baldwin Institutions were a part of this occasion.
The college hymn ‘We build our college on thee O Lord’ filled the air. 

Principal Lydia P Samuel welcomed the gathering.

The theme of the Graduation Day was ‘Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and He will establish your plans’ (Proverbs 16:3). The Baccalaureate address was given by Taranath S Sagar. 
The president of the college student union, Evangeline Richard, laid down the office, expressing immense gratitude to the principal and teachers. 
Students who enrolled in various fields were honoured with certificate of recognition and trophies by the chief guest and the principal.

Of the special awards, ‘Inspiration-The Birth of Excellence Trophy’ for the best outgoing student in commerce was given to Noor Ayesha of III BCom ‘A’ and Chandini K of  III BCom ‘B’. 

The ‘Chandrashekar Warrior Memorial Trophy’ for the best outgoing student in management was received by Priyanka Singh and Preethi Sujay. 

The ‘Sterling Trophy’ for the best outgoing student in BA went to Evangeline Richard and Dhakshayani M. 
The ‘Shivank Sundaresh Rolling Trophy’ for the best outgoing student IN BCA went to Pema Gurung. 

The ‘Ram Pher Rai Memorial Trophy’ for the best outgoing student in BSc, (FAD) was won by Geetha S and Shruthi Ojha.

‘Jamuna Raj Purohit Memorial Trophy’ for the best outgoing general officer was won by Evangeline Richard of III BA and Dhakshayani M of III BA. 
‘Parvathy Ram Prasad Trophy’ for the leader with the sunniest disposition and best conduct was given to Pema Gurung of III BCA and Priyanka Singh of III BBM. ‘
His Holiness 14th Dalai Lama Trophy’ for the best outgoing student in culturals was 
received by Kavya C of III BBM.
As the congregational hymn was sung, the service of commitment began by the symbolic lighting of candles. 

The service ended with a closing prayer. 
The outgoing batch was left with mixed emotions and an enlightening message to face new challenges. 

(Published 15 April 2014, 13:30 IST)

Follow us on