4 actors in AP assembly poll fray

4 actors in AP assembly poll fray

Sitting Secunderabad Congress MLA Jayasudha Kapoor is a known face to Telugu cine fans. She is contesting again from the Secunderabad Assembly segment which is going to the polls on April 3.

She is among four actors contesting in the first phase for different political parties.

While Vijayashanthi is contesting from the Medak Assembly segment for the Congress, actor and comedian Babu Mohan in Andole (SC) is in the fray from Medak for TRS. Yesteryear’s actor Narsimha Raj is in the fray from the Kukatpally Assembly segment for Kiran Kumar Reddy’s Jai Samaikhyandhra Party (JSP).

Jayasudha represents Secunderabad which houses one of the country’s biggest slums - Addagutta.

 “I met all the women of the locality. They understand that I need to do a lot more with regard to sanitation and drinking water,” a candid Jayasudha said. She defeated TDP giant T Srinivasa Yadav in his home turf by over 4,395 votes in the 2009 elections. This time she is pitted against the TRS party’s strongman Padma Rao and Kuna Venkatesh Goud of TDP.

Candidates like Vijayashanthi and Babu Mohan have changed their affiliations. Vijayashanthi shifted out of the TRS to the Congress and Babu Mohan quit the TDP to join the TRS. Babu Mohan is fighting Damodar Rajnarsimha, the deputy CM who is being promoted as a possible Chief Minister of Telangana.