Andhra governor, police chief, celebrities vote

Last Updated 30 April 2014, 04:30 IST

Andhra Pradesh Governor E. S. L. Narasimhan, Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwarlal and Director General of Police B. Prasada Rao were among the eminent personalities who voted here Wednesday.

The governor and his wife Vimla Narasimhan exercised their franchise at a polling centre near Raj Bhavan.

"Voting is one of the most important and almost fundamental rights provided in the parliamentary democracy. Every citizen should exercise this right," the governor told reporters after emerging from the polling station. The state is currently under president's rule.

Bhanwarlal cast his ballot at a polling station at IAS Officers colony.

Police chief Prasada Rao cast his vote at a polling booth at Police Officers' Mess in Masab Tank.

"All voters should participate in voting as by exercising this right they can choose good leaders to govern the state and the country," he said.

Film actor and Jana Sena founder Pawan Kalyan, who campaigned for BJP-TDP alliance, cast his vote in the first hour.

Another popular actor Junior NTR, grandson of TDP founder N. T. Rama Rao, also voted at a polling station in Jubliee Hills.

Junior NTR, who had campaigned for the Telugu Desam Party in 2009, stayed away this time due to differences between his father N. Harikrishna and TDP chief N. Chandrababu Naidu.

(Published 30 April 2014, 04:30 IST)

Follow us on