Hockey India announces women's team for Malaysian tour

Hockey India announces women's team for Malaysian tour

Hockey India announces women's team for Malaysian tour

Hockey India (HI) Friday announced a 21-member women's squad to tour Malaysia June 7-17 as part of preparations for the Commonwealth and the Asian Games.

India will be playing a six-match test series against Malaysia in Kuala Lumpur.

 The squad was selected by HI selectors B.P. Govinda, Harbinder Singh and Surinder Kaur along with chief coach Neil Hawgood and scientific advisor Matthew Tredrea. Selection trials were held at Patiala May 23-24. 

Midfielder Ritu Rani will be the captain of the team while defender Deepika will be the vice-captain.
 The matches will be held June 9, June 10, June 12, June 14, June 15 and June 17.  

"The players selected to be a part of the squad have shown immense talent and skills on the field and have earned their position to make it in the list.

 We are looking forward for the Malaysian tour as this will help us and the players to understand their strengths and weaknesses even better and work on them to the level of perfection.

We will be keeping a close watch on the players' performances in this tour and will analyse the same to refine the edges to ensure good results in the Commonwealth Games 2014," said Hawgood.

Ritu said she was honoured to lead the side again.

"I am very pleased to see the selected squad and I am glad to be a part of it.

 As I have been playing with all of these players for quite some time now and am aware of their capabilities, it gives me huge motivation when I look at the squad and I believe we all will give our best to live up to the expectations of our coaches and selectors. This tour is going to help us to get into the rhythm and prepare for the upcoming Commonwealth Games," she said.

The squad:Goalkeepers: Yogita Bali, Savita

Defenders: Deepika (vice-captain), Kirandeep Kaur, Sunita Lakra, Namita Toppo, Jaspreet Kaur, Gurjit Kaur, Asunta Lakra and Deep Grace EkkaMidfielders: Ritu Rani (captain), Sushila Chanu, Lilima Minz, Vandana Katariya, Amandeep Kaur and Navjot Kaur

Forwards: Rani, Poonam Rani, Ritusha Arya, Anupa Barla, Anuradha Devi.