9 including John, Edwin, Fr Francis, Andrew selected for Konkani Academy awards

9 including John, Edwin, Fr Francis, Andrew selected for Konkani Academy awards

The Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy has declared Konkani literary honours for the year 2013-14.

N Balakrishna Kamath Ankola will be conferred with prestigious Konkani literature honourary award, while Babu Gowda Mainderi (folk), John M Permannur (art), Edwin J F D’Souza (novel), Andrew L D’Cunha (poetry) and Fr Francis Rodrigues (essay) have also won the rewards. Konkani youth rewards will be conferred on Bro.

Joseph Cyril D’Souza, Shantha P Kolle and Nivedita Savanta.

Addressing a press conference here on Friday, Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy President Roy Castelino gave a brief introduction about the award winners.

N Balakrishna Kamath Ankola who will be conferred with prestigious Konkani literature honourary award, is hailing from Nagamutt of Barakur.

He has written many dramas including ‘Moga mogare,‘ ‘Geeta Samwada,’ ‘Satyanarayanu’ ‘Dingdile lagn’ and ‘Post menali pacheeti’.

He has also written ‘Samsara saagaru,’ a prose-poem collection. Akashvani had aired his Konkani poem recital.

Babu Gowda Mainderi of Moodabidri who is named for Konkani folk reward is a renowned Gumat artiste of Kodial Kudubi community. Influenced by the great Gumat artistes Veerappa Gurikara, Annu Gurikara and Annu Gowda, he became master in the art at the age of 18. He can fluently sing Ramayana in Konkani and dance accordingly.

Babu Gowda taught the art to many and helped researchers as a resource person.

John M Permannur who has been selected for the Konkani art reward, is hailing from Jeppu of Mangalore.

He has written many Konkany poems, however he has carved a niche in Konkani as well as Kannada drama world with his acting and direction.

He has directed ‘Chukun gelli sheli,’ ‘Ratnagiricho sardar,’ ‘Pas’ and ‘Kistu puran’.

He has written and directed five short plays. He is active in Konkani, Kannada and Tulu theatre works since 1970.

He has also given music to several social and religious dramas.

Edwin J F D’Souza who will be rewarded for his novel- ‘Kalem Bhangar,’ has produced 33 novels, more than 100 short stories, columns, reviews and other types of literary works.

He had also written dialogue to ‘Bogsaane’ Konkani movie. Edwin’s short stories have been translated to English, Kannada, Tamil, Hindi, Malayalam and Kashmiri languages.

‘Chokletam’ story was published in Readers’ Digest monthly. He was the member of the Central government’s Literature Academy’s General Council for the year 2008-12 and was the member of fellowship selection committee for the period 2012-14.

Now, he is the Working Director of Konkani Institution of St Aloysius College in Mangalore.
Andrew L D’Cunha of Mangalore will be rewarded for his ‘Anjurachem Paan’ poem.

He has written more than 30 stories, more than 50 articles along with poems from past 30 years. He has also published two collection of poems- ‘Vahloo Vahloo Vaahl Vaahlyaa’ and ‘Anjurachem paan’.

He has participated in several poetical meets across the globe. He has worked as the editor of Daiji Dubai Writers’ Association.

Fr Francis Rodrigues who won the award for his ‘Meet meersaang’ essay, is hailing from Alangaar of Moodabidri. He is writing in Konkani from 1989.

From 2005, he is working as the editor of Konkani publication ‘Raknno’ and ‘Kajulo’. He had worked as the advisory committee member of Literary Academy, New Delhi.

Bro. Joseph Cyril D’Souza, Shantha P Kolle and to Nivedita Savanta will be conferred with Konkani youth reward. 

Bro. Joseph Cyril D’Souza writes in the nick name of Jo C Siddakatte and working as the Assistant Editor of Konkani weekly Naman Balok Jeju.

Shantha P Kolle is hailing from Karki, Honnavar of Uttara Kannada. She is a master in glass painting, canvas painting, oil painting, and book designing.

Nivedita Savanta, known as ‘golden girl’ of Karwar has proved her excellence both in study and athletics.

He has scored 93.12 pc in SSLC exam and won eight gold, seven silver, and two bronze medals in 15 national athletic meets. 

Konkani Academy President Roy Castelino said that the award conferring ceremony will be held at Patila Puttappa Sabha Bhavana of Dharwad, on June 22, at 4 pm.

Academy Registrar Devadas Pai, Standing Committee President Lawrence D’Souza were also present.