Robben sorry for diving; Dutch clarify

Robben sorry for diving; Dutch clarify

Dutch striker Arjen Robben has apologised for diving in a bid to get a penalty against Mexico but insisted he did not fake the foul that led to his side’s winning penalty kick.

Mexico’s coach Miguel Herrera launched a furious attack on match referee Pedro Proenca for giving the injury time penalty that Jan-Klaas Huntelaar hit home to seal a 2-1 comeback victory.

Robben was at the centre of both incidents in the World Cup last-16 clash in Fortaleza.

“I really have to say and at the same time apologise in the first half I took a dive and I really shouldn’t do that,” Robben told Dutch broadcaster NOS as he celebrated the victory.

“That was a stupid, stupid thing to do but sometimes you’re expecting to be struck and then they pull their leg away at the last minute.”

But the Dutch striker insisted Proenca was right to point to the penalty spot after he was challenged by Mexico’s veteran captain Rafael Marquez. “I was fouled,” he said.
The Dutch FA (KNVB) issued a statement on Monday seeking to clarify the media interpretation of Robben's quotes.

Several media reports had erroneously reported that Robben admitted diving for the penalty that led to the victory.

"In reality Robben apologised for trying to win a penalty in the first half when he went down too early," said the statement, reported by NOS television.

"That was a stupid action," said Robben. "I want to say sorry. It was really dumb."

In the news release, Robben is quoted as saying the decision to award a penalty at the end of the game, when he went down under a challenge from Mexico captain Rafael Marquez, was correct.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
GET IT
Comments (+)