A warm send-off to 7 retiring MLCs

Seven MLCs, who retired on Monday, were given a warm send-off with the entire afternoon session of the Legislative Council dedicated to them.

Before the start of the day’s proceedings, the retiring MLCs had a photo session on the flight of steps at  Vidhana Soudha along with fellow members.

A smiling Railways Minister D V Sadananda Gowda, who was also to retire as MLCs on Monday joined them.

Gowda had resigned his membership of Council soon after he was elected as Lok Sabha MP in May this year.

After attending the photo session, Gowda left Vidhana Soudha.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah also joined the legislators. Council Chairman D H Shankaramurthy had organised breakfast for all members of the Upper House on the occasion.

The members who retired on Monday are Bharati Shetty, K V Narayana Swamy, M C Nanaiah, M V Rajasekaran, Siddaraju, K Monappa Bandari and A H Shivayogi Swamy.

JD(S) member Puttanna was also to retire on Monday but he was re-elected from the teachers’ contituency.

During the afternoon session, the retiring members were given a forum to express their feelings.

Nanaiah felt that the Legislative Council too should be given constitutional status like the Rajya Sabha.

“It would give more teeth to the Council and constitutional recognition. It will also put an end to the debate whether the Upper House in states should continue functioning or be abolished.”

Rajasekaran said Nanaiah was an asset to the parliamentary system and his party (JD-S) should have given him one more term. 

Cine actor Jayamala, who is  with the Congress for many years, took oath as member of the Legislative Council on Monday morning.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)