Saina, Chetan score; Arvind crashes out

Top seed Saina crushed Chitralekha 21-9, 21-7 to set up a clash with fifth seed Indonesian Fransiska Ratnasari, while Chetan struggled past Indonesian Adnan Fauzi 21-11, 20-22, 21-17. The men’s top seed will take on compatriot Anup Sridhar in the quarterfinals on Friday. Sixth-seeded Sridhar spanked Eshan Naqvi 21-14, 21-11 in another match.

The upset of the day was the 21-15, 19-21, 14-21 defeat of Arvind to Malaysian Kwong Beng Chan.
In a match that had 111 rallies, Arvind squandered a first game lead and then found the going tough against the Malaysian, who held his nerve at crucial junctures to emerge victorious.

In the first game, the Malaysian opened up a 10-4 lead but a gutsy Arvind pocketed 14 points on the stretch to lead 18-10 before pocketing the game.
But in the second game, the Indian committed some unforced errors to allow the Malaysian to take a 10-5 lead. Arvind tried to come back and made it 19-20 before Chan wrapped it up to draw level. In the decider, Chan again zoomed to a 10-3 lead and although Arvind tried to come back, making it 14-18, it was all over soon.
Among other Indians in fray, fourth seed P Kashyap struggled past German Dieter Domke 21-12, 19-21, 21-17 and eighth seed RMV Gurusaidatt pipped Ajay Jayaram 16-21, 21-8, 21-12 in 42 minutes to reach the quarterfinals. Sai Praneet B also made it the final eight when Nikhil Kanetkar retired with the former leading 6-2.
In women’s singles, Sikki Reddy beat third seed Maja Tvrdy 21-16, 21-14, qualifier PV Sindhu beat compatriot Mohita Sahdev 21-12, 21-14, Trupti Murgunde pipped Japanese Hirayama Yu 17-21, 21-18, 23-21 and Aditi Mutatkar ousted Neha Pandit 21-16, 21-18. Dhanya Nair went down to second seed Indonesian Maria Febe Kusumastuti 21-12, 21-6.

In the men’s doubles, top seed Akdhay Dewalkar and Jishnu Sanyal beat compatriots Davinder Dhillon and Hemant Duggal 21-4, 21-18 and Sanave Thomas and V Diju defeated Venkat Gaurav and Manish Gupta 21-13, 21-14. Second seed Tarun Kona and Arun Vishnu beat Sai Praneet B and Pranav Chopra 18-21, 21-11, 21-18 to reach the quarterfinals.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0