Ranjeet, Rushmi top seeds for national grass courts

Ranjeet, Rushmi top seeds for national grass courts

Apart from Ranjeet, current sixth in the AITA rankings, the men's section also boasts of ninth-ranked Vijay Sundar Prashanth of Tamil Nadu and Delhi lad Yannick Nelord, ranked number 10.

The women's section will have Bengal's Shivika Burman (AITA ranked 6th) and Delhi's Sweta Kumari Solanki (No 7) among others.

The tournament carries a prize purse of Rs 4.5 lakh with Rs 35,100 for the men's singles winner and Rs 23,400 for the women's singles champion.
There will be 20 direct entries, four wild cards and eight qualifiers in both the men's and women's sections.

In the men's section, wild cards have been awarded to Jayaprakash Mohit Mayur (TN), Kaza Vianayak Sharma (AP), Manoj Kumar Sewa (Bengal) and P Sudwana Sitaram (TN).
Poojashree Venkatesh (Karnataka), Tanvi Shah (Maharashtra), Ankita Raina (Gujarat) and Amrita Mukherjee (WB) were given wild cards in the women's sections.
The main draw of singles will be of 32 while the doubles draw will have 16.

More than 80 entries have been received in the men's singles section while entries in excess of 51 have been received in the women's singles event.The qualifying round of matches will be held for two days beginning on Saturday