Bypoll on Sept 13 for 3 LS seats

Bypoll on Sept 13 for 3 LS seats

Bypolls to Vadodara, Mainpuri and Medak Lok Sabha seats, vacated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav and Telangana Rashtra Samiti chief K Chandrasekhar Rao respectively, will be held on September 13, the Election Commission announced on Saturday.

The poll panel also announced by-elections to 33 Assembly seats vacated in Andhra Pradesh (1), Assam (3), Chhattisgarh (1), Gujarat (9), Sikkim (1), Rajasthan (4), Tripura (1), Uttar Pradesh (11) and West Bengal (2). The by-elections to these seats will also be held on September 13.

After winning Lok Sabha elections from two different constituencies, Modi vacated Vadodara seat in Gujarat while retaining Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh. Yadav vacated Mainpuri seat and retained Azamgarh in Uttar Pradesh.

The TRS chief vacated Medak Lok Sabha seat after he became the first Chief Minister of Telangana. The EC said notification will be issued on August 20.

The last date for candidates to file nominations is August 27. While the scrutiny of the poll papers will be held on August 28, the last date for withdrawal of nominations is August 30. The counting of votes will be held on September 16.