34 taluks declared drought-hit

State has sought an assistance of Rs 266 crore from Centre
Last Updated 26 September 2014, 19:40 IST

 The State Cabinet on Friday declared 34 taluks spread across nine districts of Bangalore (Urban), Bangalore (Rural), Ramanagara, Chikkaballapur, Kolar, Tumkur, Gulbarga, Bidar and Hassan as “drought hit.”

Briefing reporters after the meeting, Law Minister T B Jayachandra said the taluks were declared drought-hit following deficient rainfall for three consecutive years.

Among the 34 taluks are Bangalore (South), (North), Anekal, Devanahalli, Hoskote, Channapatna, Kanakapura, Ramanagara, Kolar, Bangarpet, Mulbagal, Madhugiri, Bidar and Humnabad.

He said the government was working on an action plan to increase the amount of compensation to those who had lost their houses due to the floods in eight districts of North Karnataka including Bidar, Yadgir, Koppal, Raichur, Gadag, Bijapur and Bellary. The overall loss due to the floods was estimated at Rs 426 crore.

 The State has sought an assistance of Rs 266 crore from the Centre, he said. The government is contemplating increasing the compensation to those who houses have been completely damaged from Rs 17,600 to Rs 40,000 and for partially damaged houses from Rs 3,800 to Rs 20,000. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will give his stamp of approval for the proposal soon, he said.

The Cabinet also gave its nod for taking up the Gram Vikas Yojana for improving basic amenities and infrastructure in 1,000 villages spread over 189 Assembly constituencies at a cost of Rs 750 crore, Jayachandra said. The Cabinet decided to provide Rs 88.11 crore to S V Global Mills (owners of Binny Mills) for parting with 3.16 acres of land for the Okalipuram junction widening project in Bangalore.

Jayachandra said the Cabinet adopted a resolution congratulating Isro scientists for the Mars Mission success. The resolution will be sent to Isro.

(Published 26 September 2014, 19:40 IST)

Follow us on