Hockey India announces team for Australia tour

Hockey India announces team for Australia tour

Asian Games champions India will play a four-match hockey Test series against Australia to prepare for the FIH Champions Trophy 2014 slated in Bhubaneswar Dec 6-14, Hockey India (HI) announced Friday.

The 21-member India squad will depart for Australia Oct 29 and the series starts Nov 4, followed by matches on Nov 5, 8, 9 at the Perth Hockey Stadium. India will also play one training game against Australia A, Nov 1.

The 21-member squad was selected by HI selectors B.P. Govinda, Harbinder Singh and Arjun Halappa alongwith chief coach Terry Walsh, coach Jude Felix and physiotherapist Jince Thomas Mathew on the basis of their performance in the Asian Games and the trials held here Oct 16 at the National Stadium.

Led by captain Sardar Singh (197 Caps) and goalkeeper P.R. Sreejesh (112 Caps) as the vice-captain, the team is determined to outshine Australia.


Goalkeepers: P.R Sreejesh, Harjot Singh

Defenders: Gurbaj Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, V.R. Raghunath, Briendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Gurjinder Singh, Harbir Singh Sandhu

Midfielders: Manpreet Singh, S.K. Uthappa, Sardar Singh (captain), Dharamvir Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Satbir Singh

Forwards: Nikkin Thimmaiah, S.V. Sunil, Mandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Lalit Upadhyay

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)