Bhavane makes Ranji cut

R Vinay Kumar will lead Karnataka in their Ranji Trophy opener against Tamil Nadu, beginning on Sunday at the M Chinnaswamy stadium.

Karnataka are the defending champions, and they have selected almost the same squad that delivered them the tile in 2013. Off-spinner Udit Patel has made a comeback into the squad that has 16 players after a lengthy break.

The lone new face in the squad is Shishir Bhavane. The 23-year-old Hubballi left-hander has come in for KL Rahul, who is currently in Australia with the India Test squad.

Bhavane, who made his State debut against Tamil Nadu at Secunderabad in the South Zone one-dayers for the Subbiah Pillai Trophy, has impressed with a couple of good knocks, including a match-winning unbeaten 81 against Hyderabad.

The notable absentee is Amit Verma, who scored a hundred in the semis last season against Punjab, as the left-hander has shifted his base to Kerala this year.

The squad: R Vinay Kumar (captain), CM Gautam (vice-captain/wicketkeeper), Robin Uthappa, Mayank Agarwal, R Samarth, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Kunal Kapoor, Stuart Binny, Shreyas Gopal, Udit Patel, A Mithun, HS Sharath, S Arvind, Abrar Kazi, Shishir Bhavane. Batting coach: J Arun Kumar; Bowling coach: Mansur Ali Khan.

Karuna named skipper
Karuna Jain has been named captain of the 15-member State women’s team which will participate in the Group ‘B’ inter-state one-day meet at Perecherla and Guntur from Dec 6 to 14.

Team: Karuna Jain (captain & wk), Rakshita K (vice-captain), Vanita VR, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Veda Krishnamurthy, Akanksha Kohli, Rameshwari Gayakwad, Vandana Mahajan, Pushpa Kiresur, Divya G, Ramya S, Prathyusha C, Pooja Panchal, Sahana S Pawar, Shubha S. Coach: Kalpana V; Assistant coach: Gayathri KR.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0