Champions League in FTP, to have annual window: Modi

Champions League in FTP, to have annual window: Modi

“I think the Champions League has already been slotted in as part of the FTP,” Modi told the official IPL website.

The BCCI vice-president felt a tournament of the IPL’s magnitude also deserved a window in the ICC calendar.

“IPL and other domestic tournaments around the world have to find their own windows. We haven’t asked for an FTP commitment as far as that is concerned. But for an international tournament of this magnitude and this quality, we are working with all the member countries and the ICC,” Modi said.

This year’s Champions League will feature 12 teams and Modi said he would like to see more sides competing in the event.

“We were always moving to 12 teams in the second year of operation as the first year had been delayed. We hope to increase it to more teams going forward.

“We want to broaden it for more and more countries, so that the true champion of champions is taking place. You will see more and more countries participating in the future,” Modi said. He also mooted the idea of hosting the Champions League in different countries.

“We have always envisaged movement of Champions League from country to country, and to showcase the best of the best playing in different parts of the world, so that fans across the world can participate and be part of Champions League and also be part of the game.”

Gibbs dilemma

Herschelle Gibbs will soon have to choose between Deccan Chargers and South Africa T20 champions Cape Cobras for the Champions League.

Gibbs was a part of the Cobras side and on Sunday, the Chargers won the IPL. Modi said it was up to Gibbs to decide who he wants to play for.

“There is already a modus operandi laid down by all the members of the Champions League which has been accepted by everybody. It is the player’s choice and not of the franchise to decide which team he is going to play for,” he said.

Honours list

* Winners: Deccan Chargers (Rs 48 million).
* Runners-up: Royal Challengers Bangalore (Rs 24m).
* Fair Play award: Kings XI Punjab.
* Man of the final: Anil Kumble (Royal Challengers).
* Golden Player of the League: Adam Gilchrist (Deccan Chargers).
* Orange Cap: Matthew Hayden (Chennai Super Kings).
* Purple Cap: Rudra Pratap Singh (Deccan Chargers).
* Under-23 player of the League: Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)