Double delight for Railways

In an exciting contest, Railways men defeated Punjab 75-74 by a whisker to retain the men’s trophy, while women’s team brushed aside last year’s losing finalist Delhi 84-62 to emerge victorious.

In the men’s final, hosts Punjab made a good beginning and looked all set to halt defending champions’ victory march in the tournament. Punjab progressed their way to lead the proceedings 39-34 at the end of first session.

But, in the second and third session, Railways fought tooth and nail for each and every point and made the scoreline read 55-54 in their favour.

Results: Final: Men: Railways 75 (Vishesh B 17, Arjun Singh 17, Yadwinder Singh 20, Prakash Misra 13) bt Punjab 74 (Jagdeep 18, Talwinderjit Singh 26, Dilawar Singh 17, Mod Singh 11).

Women: Railways 84 (Geethu Anna Jose 28, P Anitha 12, Anju Lakra 10) bt Delhi 62 (Shiba Maggon 16, Prasanthi Singh 20, Prathima Singh 10).

Semifinals, women: Delhi 77 (Prashanti Singh 19, Pratima Singh 12, Shiba Maggon 11) bt Chattisgarh 32 (Akansha Singh 7, Sangeeta Nadal 8).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)