Six state players in Duleep squad

Six players from the State have forced their way into the 15-man squad by sheer weight of performance with a seventh – Ganesh Satish -- in the stand-byes, while State coach K Sanath Kumar has also been named the coach of the South Zone squad.

Opening batsmen KB Pawan and Robin Uthappa, middle-order star Manish Pandey, wicketkeeper CM Gautam and pace twins R Vinay Kumar and A Mithun have been included in the team to be led by S Badrinath, one of seven representatives from Tamil Nadu.

South Zone begin their campaign on January 26 in Indore.

The squad: S Badrinath (capt), Abhinav Mukund, S Anirudha, Robin Uthappa, KB Arun Karthik, KB Pawan, Manish Pandey, CM Gautam, R Ashwin, C Ganapathy, R Vinay Kumar, A Mithun, Alfred Absolem, Shadab Jakati, R Aushik Srinivas.  Coach: K Sanath Kumar. Manager: Syed Kirmani. Physio: V Muthu Kumar. Stand-byes: P Rohan Prem, Ganesh Satish, Saurabh S Bandekar, B Sumanth, Abhinav Kumar.

Dravid backs BCCI move
Rahul Dravid has welcomed the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s move to try and get in as many Test matches as possible this year.

The BCCI has managed to convince South Africa to play two Tests next month, and moves are on to convince Australia to play at least two Tests against the current world number one when they come calling later this year.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)