Sayali, Ajay move into pre-quarters

Defending champion Sayali blew away unseeded V Jyothiswaroopa’s challenge 21-5, 21-6 in the women’s category, while title favourite Ajay Jayaram got the better off Ankur 21-11, 21-7 in the men’s event in their respective third round matches.

Other top stars, including RMV Gurusai Dutt, Arvind Bhat, Chetan Anand, Anup Sridhar, P Kashyap in men’s singles and Trupti Murgunde, Aditi Mutatkar and Gayatari Vartak in women’s singles also progressed to the round of 16.

In the men’s category, second seeded Gurusai thrashed Kumar Sandeep 21-10, 21-6, while third seeded Arvind beat Anirban Chetia 21-18, 21-3.

Chetan humbled Tushar Badeccha 21-8, 21-14, Sridhar beat qualifier T Dinesh 21-12, 21-5 and fourth seeded Kashyap prevailed over Kiran Kumar 21-6, 21-12 to reach the fourth round.

In the women’s singles, second seeded Murgunde came back from a one-game deficit to beat PV Sindhu 17-21, 21-15, 21-13. Seventh seeded Mutatkar beat Sneha Shantilal 21-14, 21-5 while fourth seeded Vartak trounced Vaishali Baria 21-13, 21-8.
Among others in women singles, fifth seeded PC Thulasi beat Jacqueline Rose Kunnath 21-16, 21-5, while third seeded Mudra Dhainje prevailed over Khiranki Sengupta 21-14, 21-9.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)