GP vote counting peaceful barring stray incidents

Barring stray incidents of clashes between the supporters of the candidates and police resorting to mild lathi charges at a few places to disperse the unruly mobs, the counting of votes of the gram panchayat elections in twin dristricts of Kolar and Chikkaballapur on Friday was by and large peaceful.

The complete results are not out yet, a few constituencies threw up surprises. There were quite a few constituencies which were won or lost by single digit vote margin. But the most interesting result was recorded in Singat Kadirenahalli constituency in Nandi gram panchayat limits of Chikkaballapur taluk. Congress-backed candidate C K Mallappa recorded a hat-trick of wins in the constituency and the margin of victory made this win so special for Mallappa. Mallappa garnered 409 votes while his rival Geeta, supported by JD(S) drew blank. Yes, Mallappa had polled all the votes cast in the constituency.

I have served as GP member from Singat Kadirenahalli constituency for three consecutive terms. I have also served as president and vice-president of Nandi GP. The voters of the constituency had decided to elect me unopposed. So, nobody had filed nominations till the penultimate day of the filing of nominations. On the last day of filing nominations, JD(S) backed candidate Geeta filed nominations, Mallappa said.

Counting of votes of most of the constituencies in both the districts was completed by 7 pm. The counting is on at few constituencies in Bagepalli, Gouribidnur and Chintamani taluks and is expected to go beyond 8 pm.

Deputy Commissioner of Chikkaballapur Dr M V Venkatesh told Deccan Herald, “The results would have been out by noon if the EVCs were used in panchayat elections. The manuel counting of votes need some time. The counting at single and dual member constituencies has been completed. But the counting of votes in four-member constituencies is taking time.”

In Chikkaballapur district, as many as 6,163 candidates contested for 2,482 seats in 150 gram panchayats. Of which members for 88 seats have been elected unanimously. People of two GPs - Abloodu and E Thimmasandra have boycotted the panchayat elections.

Three persons were injured in a clash during victory celebrations at Vaddarapalya in Kolar taluk. Police resorted to mild lathi charge to disperse election candidates and their supporters who attempted to barge into a counting centre in Malur and Srinivaspur. Counting began at the stipulated time in Kolar, Bangarpet and Mulbagal. But it was not so at Srinivaspur and Malur.

Enraged candidates, their supporters and polling agents entered into a verbal duel with the police at the counting centre. Meanwhile, unauthorised persons attempted to gatecrash into the counting centre compelling the police to wield baton.

Subramani, the candidate from Balla gram panchayat in Mulbagal taluk, who was murdered before the election, won the election by securing 552 votes.

Kolar Deputy Commissioner Dr K V Trilok Chandra, Additional Deputy Commissioner R S Peddappaiah, Assistant Commissioner C N Manjunath and other senior officers were present at the counting centres in Kolar district.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)