Sand mining, transportation banned

In force for four months from June 10

Sand mining, transportation banned

With the onset of monsoon, Deputy Commissioner Anurag Tewari has banned sand mining and transportation of sand and wooden logs, through the district. The order will come into force from June 10. The ban will be in force for four months.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the district task force on sand, which was attended by officials from mines and geology, forest, police and RTO. As per the decision taken in the meeting, the DC has issued a circular in this regard on June 5. The copy of the circular has also been sent to Dakshina Kannada, Udupi, Hassan and Mysuru district administration.  The ban order has been passed under Section 31 of Police Act 1963, Section 33 of Disaster Management Act 2005, Section 115 of Motor Vehicle Act 1988, Rules 221 A (5) of Karnataka Motor Vehicles Act, IPC Section 144.

Sand mining is being carried out from seven blocks identified on the banks of river Hemavathi and Harangi and two blocks at river Cauvery. If sand is extracted during monsoon, the river will change its course of flow. Hence, the sand mining has been banned during monsoon. Along with sand mining, the movement of vehicles laden with sand is also banned this year. After the sand transportation commenced in the district in February, the number of accidents have increased in the district. Sand laden trucks meeting with an accident on Sullia-Sampaje-Madikeri-Kushalnagar stretch has become a common feature. The district administration had received series of complaints to check over loaded lorries transporting sand.

Deputy Commissioner Anurag Tewari said “with Kodagu receiving heavy rainfall during monsoon, maintaining the quality of road is a challenge. Accordingly, along with sand, the transportation of wooden logs have been banned. Measures have been taken to protect the public property.”

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)