SBM, RWF make it to semis; Vijaya exit

SBM, RWF make it to semis; Vijaya exit

On Friday, both registered identical seven-wicket wins in their respective matches over State Bank of Travancore and BPCL KR ‘A’ from Ernakulam.

In the semifinals, RWF run into Indian Bank from Chennai, while SBM lock horns with Ernakulam’s Swantons CC.

SBM rode on half-centuries from MK Manjunath (55, 56b) and B Akhil (52 n.o., 35b) to overhaul SBT’s impressive tally of 196 for six, while Sunil Kumar Jain’s unbeaten 76 (85b, 9x4, 2x6) helped RWF make light work of BPCL’s modest 144 for nine.

A third Bangalore team, Vijaya Bank, went down by 30 runs in a Pool A encounter to Swantons and thus missed a chance to make it to the last four.

Indian Bank completed the semifinal line-up with facile 52-run win over Cordiant.
Brief scores: State Bank of Travancore: 196/6 in 30 overs (VA Jagadeesh 52, MP Sorab 36, S Ramakrishnan 36) lt to SBM: 198/3 in 29.4 overs (MK Manjunath 55, B Akhil 52 n.o.).

BPCL KR ‘A’: 144/9 in 30 overs (Yogesh 3-19) lt to Rail Wheel Factory: 147/3 in 24.3 overs (Sunil Kumar Jain 76 n.o.).

Swantons CC: 167/5 in 30 overs (CM Deepak 64, Jigar Shah 50; Kiran 3-31) bt Vijaya Bank: 137 all out in 26.1 overs (S Aravind 4-36).

Indian Bank: 219/6 in 30 overs (P Satish 41, E Suresh 50, Wilkins Victor 40) bt Cordiant: 167 all out in 29.2 overs (Ramkumar 52, Samba Siva Sarma 42; P Satish 5-47, Prasanna 5-25).