Hindi, 3 Indian languages find place in Dubai driving tests

Hindi, 3 Indian languages find place in Dubai driving tests

Four Indian languages including Hindi can be chosen while appearing for driving tests here in the UAE from September. Hindi, Malayalam, Tamil, Bengali, Chinese, Russian and Persian languages can be opted by aspiring drivers besides the three existing languages for both theory tests as well as eight mandatory lectures.

The Roads and Transport Authority (RTA), which currently conducts tests in three languages - English, Urdu and Arabic, will offer knowledge tests and lectures in seven more languages from September.

"We will be having text on screen as well as voice over in 11 languages, which the candidate can listen to through headphones. In case a person cannot read, a voice will read out the questions and then the candidate can choose the correct answer from multiple options available," Arif Al Malek, Director of Drivers Training and Qualifications at RTA, was quoted as saying by Gulf News.

The mandatory lectures and knowledge test are required to obtain a driving licence. The computer-based knowledge test needs to be passed by every candidate before moving on to the practical driving classes.

The 30-minute test includes the text on screen and the voice over. "We already have lectures in some of these languages, but we will be upgrading our system soon to conduct the lectures in a more organised manner so that every candidate has thorough knowledge of what it takes to drive on roads. For this we will ensure candidates are taught in the language of their choice," Al Malek added.
Driving schools in Dubai welcomed the move to introduce new languages.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)