Likith fashions President's XI facile victory

Likith Bannur claimed his second six-for in as many days to power President’s XI to an innings and 57-run win over Mangalore Zone on the second and final day of their SA Srinivasan (under-23) memorial trophy tournament here at the Alur (1) ground on Thursday. 

On Wednesday Likith had taken six for 44 to help President’s skittle Mangalore for a modest 189. On the day, the left-arm spinner went one better as he sent Mangalore crashing to an embarrassing 31 all out in 19.2 overs with figures of six for 18. With this, Likith returned an impressive match haul of 12-62 as President’s pocketed five points, including a bonus. Mangalore, on the other hand, went into a point deficit.

Mangalore needed to score 88 runs in their second innings to make President’s bat again after the winners, overnight 84/1 had declared their innings closed at 277 for six in 84 overs. Mashooq Hussain was the top-scorer with 129 runs.

Brief scores: At Alur (1): Mangalore Zone: 189 all out and 31 all out in 19.2 overs (Likith Bannur 6-18, S Prashanth 2-5) lt President’s XI: 277/6 decl. in 84  overs (Mashooq Hussain 129, Aman Raj 52 n.o.; Rithesh Bhatkal 3-55). President’s XI: 5 points; Mangalore Zone: -1 point.

At Alur (2): Tumkur Zone: 318/8 in 90 overs drew Combined City XI (48/0): 394/5 in 90 overs (CA Karthik 82, BR Sharath 77, Abhinav Manohar 35, KV Siddarth 96, Nihal F Shilar 26 n.o., Raunak Shah 53 n.o.; Suresh Karani 3-128). Combined City XI: 3; Tumkur Zone : 1 point.

At BGS: Bangalore City XI: 346/5 in 90 overs drew Dharwad Zone: 269/4 in 90 overs (Mohd. Azeem 108, Atreya Inamdar 93, Kishore Kamath 26; Vishnu Prabhas 2-54, Nithin Naidu 2-56). Bangalore City XI: 3; Dharwad Zone: 1.

At Aditya Global: Raichur Zone: 106 all out in 46.1 overs and 184 all out in 53.3 overs (Avinash D 67; Prateek Jain 2-24, T Pradeep 3-39, Shivl Kaushik 2-69) lt to Bangalore Zone: 340/7 in 90 overs (KL Shrijith 152 n.o., HN Aditya 87; Viceky Athwal 3-63, Anand Doddamani 2-85). Bangalore Zone: 5; Raichur Zone: -1.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)