Eshwarappa elected State BJP chief

Eshwarappa elected State BJP chief

Energy portfolio to be filled up after budget session

Eshwarappa elected State BJP chief

K S Eshwarappa addressing the media in Bangalore on Thursday. dh photo

He has tendered resignation as minister in pursuance of one person one post principle followed in the party. He will hold the office for three years.

The BJP National General Secretary Vijay Goel, who is also the returning officer for the organisational elections in the State, declared the election of Eshwarappa. Party national president Nitin Gadkari will oversee the change of guard at a rally at the National College Grounds here on January 30.

A staunch RSS supporter, the 61-year-old Eshwarappa hails from Kuruba community. This is the third time that Eshwarappa, who gels well with the party cadre, is leading BJP in the State.

Eshwarappa and Jagadish Shettar were among those party seniors who raised a banner of revolt against Yeddyurappa demanding the Central leadership to ‘discipline the Chief Minister’.  It is said that Eshwarappa has been given the post to checkmate Yeddyurappa.

In all probability, Eshwarappa will be leading the party in the next Assembly and Lok Sabha elections.

His term will conclude in January 2013, and the State will go for the Assembly elections in May of that year, provided the ruling BJP survives till that time in power. The party may not hunt for a new president when it has to brace up for the elections.

The outgoing president D V Sadananda Gowda, sources in the party said, is inclined to get nominated to the Legislative Council so that he can get a ministerial berth. But Gowda, who is an MP from Udupi-Chikmagalur, stoutly denied any such move. He also spiked the rumours that he has quit as the director of Karnataka Milk Federation.

Cabinet reshuffle

The ministerial berth vacated by Eshwarappa is unlikely to be filled till the presentation of State budget.

Sources said that the post will be filled during Cabinet reshuffle scheduled after the budget session. The Chief Minister will hold the portfolio till then.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox