West enter title round

West enter title round

Resuming at their overnight score of 56 for one, West Zone declared their second innings at 345 for seven, a few overs before the start of the mandatory overs.

The highlights of the day were centuries from a promoted Cheteshwar Pujara and Rohit Sharma.

The duo, which got together after Parthiv Patel (31) and skipper Wasim Jaffer’s (6) dismissal this morning, added 172 runs for the fourth wicket.

WEST ZONE (I Innings): 769 all out
NORTH ZONE (I Innings): 294 all out

WEST ZONE (IInd Innings, o/n: 56/1): Cheteshwar Pujara c Dewan b RI Singh 110, Ajinkya Rahane b Awana 0, Parthiv Patel c Kaul b Bhatia 31, Wasim Jaffer b Mishra 6, Rohit Sharma c (Sub) Dogra b Mishra 116, Ravindra Jadeja  c Dewan b Mishra 56, Irfan Pathan c Deewan b Mishra 0, Abhishek Nayar (not out) 17, Dhawal Kulkarni (not out) 1. Extras (B-2, LB-1, W-1, NB-4) 8. Total (for 7 wkts decl, 89 overs) 345.

Fall of wickets: 1-10, 2-56, 3-80, 4-252, 5-311, 6-311, 7-336.

Bowling: Parvindar Awana 8-3-23-1, Vikramjeet Malik 4.1-1-13-0, Virat Kohli 2-0-17-0, Vikas Mishra 26.5-2-96-4, Rahul Dewan 21-3-114-0, Rajat Bhatia 8-3-7-1, Mithun Manhas 4-1-13-0, Ravi Inder Singh 14-0-58-1, Shikhar Dhawan 1-0-1-0.