Prohibitory orders in force across City

Prohibitory orders in force across City

Prohibitory orders in force across City

The City police will impose prohibitory orders under Section 144 of the Code of Criminal Procedure in Bengaluru to ensure law and order after the announcement of the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike election results on Tuesday.

Assembly of more than five people in public places has been prohibited. “The order will come into force from Tuesday midnight and will expire at midnight on Thursday. The police have decided to clamp the prohibitory orders as they anticipate clashes between supporters of the winning and losing candidates,” Police Commissioner N S Megharik said.

Sale of all types of liquor has been banned from 6 am on Tuesday till 6 am on Wednesday, he added.

One counting centre has been set up in each of the 27 Assembly constituencies. The votes polled in parts of Anekal and Bengaluru South Assembly constituencies will be counted in a centre located in Jayanagar 7th Block. For each ward, six to seven rounds of counting will be required. In each round, a maximum of 2,800 votes would be counted, official sources said.

The highest number of nine wards are in the Rajarajeshwari Nagar Assembly constituency and the lowest - four - in the Yelahanka constituency, as some wards in Yelahanka fall under the KR Puram Assembly constituency where the counting of votes may go up to 19 rounds.

If a candidate wants to contest (challenge) the results, then he/she has to file an election petition within a month after the results are announced. Unlike in the Assembly and Lok Sabha elections, the winning margin in the BBMP elections would be much lesser.

For instance, in the 2010 Palike elections, the winning margin of as many as 63 corporators was not over 500 votes. The Congress candidate from the Karisandra ward in Padmanabhanagar Assembly constituency had won by just four votes.