Nix Prathapchandra's nomination, we will quit fray: Cong rebels

Three Cong ticket aspirants in Dakshina Kannada, two file papers

Two Congress leaders from Udupi—former MP Jayaprakash Hegde and former ZP president Bhujanga Shetty— filed their nominations for the election to the Legislative Council from Dakshina Kannada local bodies constituency on Monday. 

Speaking to mediapersons after filing the papers, Hegde said that the Congress high command should have given ticket to those someone who is active in the party. Leaders who are in touch with the people should be fielded in the election, the former MP said. 

“I will withdraw my nominations if the party gives ticket to any active member of the Congress other than Prathapchandra Shetty. I have not violated the party discipline. I am not rebelling against the party, but contesting the election for the party workers,” he said.

Shetty, a former Zilla Panchayat president, also said that he would opt out if the party gave ticket to anyone other than Prathapchandra.

“The party leaders have not contacted any of the aspirants so far. The district Congress had sent a list of 10 aspirants to the KPCC which was not considered. 

“In fact, Prathapchandra had declared that he would not contest the election. Yet, he was given ticket and he filed the papers,” Bhujanga Shetty said. 

Another ticket aspirant from Dakshina Kannada - Harikrishna Bantwal - has urged the party to field a candidate who has really contributed to the growth of the party. If the party reconsiders Prathapchandra Shetty’s candidature and decides to field any other candidate, he would reconsider his decision to file papers as an independent candidate on December 9, Bantwal said. 

On Monday, 11 nominations were filed by six candidates. They are Srinivas Poojary - BJP (3), Prathapchandra Shetty - Congress (3), A M Ismail (independent), Praveenchandra (JD-S), Jayaprakash Hegde - independent (2) and Bhujanga Shetty (independent). 

In BelagaviOfficial candidates of the BJP and the Congress filed their papers for election to the Council from the local bodies constituency.

Sitting MLCs Mahantesh Kavatagimath - BJP and Veerkumar Patil - Congress are seeking re-election.

In DharwadBJP candidate Pradeep Shettar, younger brother of leader of the Opposition in Assembly Jagadish Shettar, along with a large number of supporters and party leaders, filed his papers at the office of the assistant election officer B C Sateesh in Dharwad.

State BJP president Pralhad Joshi and former minister C M Udasi accompanied Pradeep.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0