Beary Academy awards announced

Beary Academy awards announced

Karnataka Beary Sahitya Academy has announced its honorary, research and women’s literature awards for the year 2015.

Addressing media persons, the academy President B A Mohammed Hanif said three people have been selected for the honorary awards. They are Sudha magazine Assistant Editor B M Haneef, Bengaluru, (Language and Literature), Mohammed K Matha, Uppinangadi (Art) and Mohammed Ali Ucchil, Abu Dhabi (Culture).

Dr Wahab Doddamane Smaraka Adhyayana Prashasthi will be presented to Yakoob Khader Gulvadi and P Susheela Upadhyaya Smaraka Beary Mahila Prashasthi will be presented to Mariam Ismail, he added.

The honorary awards includes a cash prize of Rs 50,000 each and the other two awards carry a purse of Rs 10,000 each, he said.

The award presentation ceremony will be held in February-end. Responding to a question, he said 25 cent land has been allotted by the government for Beary Bhavan. The land will be purchased from MUDA, he added.

He said that requests will be made to the chief minister and the minister for Kannada and culture to retain academy Registrar Umarabba in his current position. Academy members Hamid Padubidri, Zohra Abbas, Abdul Hamid and Yusuf Vaktar were present.