Swastic claim T20 crown

Swastic claim T20 crown

Cricket Local round-up

 R Sam­arth struck a feisty half-century as Swastic Union Cricket Club defeated Jawans Cricket Club by five wickets in the final to emerge champions of the KSCA Twenty20 tournament at the M Chinnasw­amy Stadium here on Saturday.

Batting first, Jawans CC rode on hard-hitting knocks from Mohammed Taha (42) and Nishanth Singh (45) to post a good total of 168/6 runs in 20 overs. Shreyas Gopal (2/44) and SL Akshay (2/35) scalped two wickets each for Swastic Union.

In response, Swastic Union CC reached the target 19.3 overs, with Samarth and R Vinay Kumar slamming quickfire 50 and 42 runs respectively. They were well supported by CM Gautam’s unbeaten 31 runs.

Brief scores: final: Jawans Cricket Club: 168/6 in 20 overs (Mohd Taha 42, Nishanth Singh 45; Shreyas Gopal 2-44, SL Akshay 2-35) lt to Swastic Union Cricket Club: 170/5 in 19.3 overs (R Samarth 50, R Vinay Kumar 42, CM Gautam 31 n.o.; Dikshanshu Negi 2-29).
Cottonian Shield

Jay Bohra’s fine bowling performance powered hosts Bishop Cotton Boys School into the final of the Cottonian Shield (under-13) cricket tournament after they defeated Frank Anthony Public School (FAPS) by 53 runs.

After being put in to bat, the Cottonians posted 134/7 in their 20 overs with Nashon Samuel top scoring with 28.

Chasing 135, FAPS made a hash of the run chase and were bowled out for 81 in 18.2 overs as Bohra returned with excellent figures of 6/15 in four overs.

The Cottonians will now face St Joseph’s Boys School in the final after the Josephites overcame Bethany High School by 54 runs in the other semifinal.

Brief scores: Under-15: St Joseph’s Boys’ High School: 194/3 in 20 overs (Hemanth 80 n.o., Sanil 65) bt Baldwin Boys’ School: 66 all out in 15 overs (Hemanth 29; Ankush 4-3, Sanil 3-18, Nithin 2-8).

St John’s High School: 119/6 in 20 overs (Prithvi 41, Kenneth 36; Saif 3-34, Palguna 3-20) lt to Bethany High School: 120/1 in 14.2 overs (Chegappa 53 n.o., Palgina 37).

Under-13: Semifinals: Bishop Cotton Boys’ School: 134/7 in 20 overs (Nashon Samuel 28) bt Frank Anthony Public School: 81 all out in 18.2 overs (Jay Bohra 6-15, Abhay 2-16).

St Joseph’s Boys’ High School: 117/6 in 20 overs (Arsalaan 31, Ahwin 29 n.o.; Chinappa 2-26, Vinamr 2-21) bt Bethany HS: 63 all out in 14.4 overs (Chinmay 3-11, Aditya 3-23).