Licence holders told to deposit arms

Licence holders told to deposit arms

City Police Commissioner N S Megharik has directed the licence holders of firearms residing in Hebbal Assembly constituency to deposit their firearms at the jurisdictional police stations on or before February 3, in view of the bypolls.

The arms could be deposited at Hebbal, JC Nagar, RT Nagar, Sanjaynagar and DJ Halli police stations and they will be in the custody of police till February 18.

The commissioner has also banned carrying of firearms, attending processions, mass drills, mass training with fire arms under sub-section 1 and 3 of 144 and 144-A of CrPC.

However, the order is not applicable to the Central and State government agencies, public and private sector undertakings where managements are permitted to have arms for the security of the gazetted officers of the State and Central governments.

Individuals seeking exemption under extremely exceptional and deserving category can approach the respective deputy commissioners and file an application on or before February 3.