2nd phase of ZP, TP polls in 15 districts peaceful

2nd phase of ZP, TP polls in 15 districts peaceful

2nd phase of ZP, TP polls in 15 districts peaceful

 The second phase of polling for 15 zilla panchayats and 80 taluk panchayats concluded on Saturday, with the State Election Commission putting the voter turnout at  68 to 70 per cent. The exact figures will be declared by the SEC on Sunday.

SEC Commissioner P N Sreenivasachari said that polling, which concluded at 5 pm, was by and large peaceful in the 15 districts. Barring minor skirmishes outside polling stations, there was no major incident inside the booths.

“These scuffles are common. In fact, this will go on for the next three to four days, owing to old rivalries. We see this happen during every panchayat election,” he added.

The commissioner said that this time, the first two phases so far had recorded a marginally higher polling percentage.

The first phase, which saw 73.34 pc polling, had recorded a 3.3 pc increase. “Last time, the second phase had recorded 66.35 pc polling. Going by the voting trend, I expect the turnout to have gone up in the second phase too,” he added.

In the first phase, 552 ZP seats and 1,945 TP seats in Bengaluru and Belagavi divisions went for polling on February 13. In the second phase, 531 ZP seats and 1,939 TP seats in Mysuru and Kalaburagi divisions, besides the Vijayapura district of Belagavi division, went to the polls. The polling received a lukewarm response in Chikkamagaluru district till afternoon, but picked up later. In the district, labourers left for work after exercising their franchise in the morning. Elections were held in 29 ZP and 50 TP constituencies in Kodagu district.

There was a glitch in an electronic voting machine at Athooru polling station in Somwarpet taluk, which was rectified later. There was brisk polling since morning in the district. Bidar district recorded a voter turnout of 61.55 per cent. The voting began on a dull note, but picked up pace towards afternoon.

Barring stray incidents, polling was peaceful in Raichur district. The polling percentage in the district was 66.9 per cent. The election was delayed by 20 minutes at Udamagal Khanapur in Kalmala constituency and by an hour at Hirenaganur in Gejjalaghatta seat due a faulty electronic voting machine (EVM).

A couple of incidents of stone throwing were reported in Aland taluk. There have been some reports of boycotting elections and delayed start and disruption in voting due to snags in EVMs.

Voting was peaceful in Ballari district, with a polling percentage of 64. Polling began late at a few places due to glitches in EVMs. Yadgir district recorded a polling percentage of 61. The election began two hours late due to a faulty EVM at Yarakihal in Surapur taluk.
The voting was by and large peaceful in Koppal district, which recorded 50.5 per cent polling till 3 pm.

Dakshina Kannada district recorded 69 per cent polling. Due to glitches in EVMs, polling commenced one hour late at some places in Sullia taluk. The elections took place peacefully, except minor untoward incidents, in Udupi district (polling percentage 68.17). The elections in Mysuru district witnessed a turnout of over 75 per cent as per initial estimates.

Mandya district recorded 70.57 per cent voting. A total of 7,19,456 voters in seven taluks, including Mandya, exercised their franchise.

In Hassan, a total of 12,70,648 voters exercised their franchise. The district recorded 71.04 per cent voting. A total of 6,76,795 voters cast their votes in Chamarajanagar district and the elections passed off peacefully. The poll percentage was 74.6.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox