Dhoni questions the use of ear-piece

Dhoni questions the use of ear-piece

The standoffs between cricketers and umpires are not new. A new one surfaced during India’s five-wicket victory over Pakistan in the Asia Cup which prompted Mahendra Singh Dhoni to question the use of earpieces by umpire during an international match. 

During the match, Pakistan’s Khurram Manzoor had moved across to play a scoop shot off Ashish Nehra. He couldn’t connect and the ball seemed to have brushed his gloves before  being taken by Dhoni. The vehement appealing of both Nehra and Dhoni was turned down by Bangladeshi field umpire Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid.

Asked to comment on the standard of umpiring, Dhoni quipped: “You don’t want me to get banned before World T20. You have all seen the umpiring. One thing certain should be done. You know all the umpires now have a walkie-talkie and earpiece in their ear.

"So effectively, in a way it means that they are umpiring with only one ear and the other ear is stuck with an earpiece."

Dhoni said with the noise from the crowd reaching crescendo, umpires are left with one just one ear to judge the noise when wearing the earpiece.

 "They can't hear and when it's so loud... so definitely they should consider this thing. At least, have both the ears around, there is no point having an earpiece when a bowler is bowling as you don't need to use it then," he said.

Manzoor, however, didn’t last long to rub it on India, who went on to masterfully dismiss Pakistan for 83 in 17.3 overs before conjuring their sixth win out of the seven Twenty20 internationals against the archrivals.

Last year, Australian opener David Warner had argued for umpires being provided with technological assistance on a regular basis for dealing with the increasing no-ball issue of fast bowlers. 

Liked the story?

  • 0

    Happy
  • 0

    Amused
  • 0

    Sad
  • 0

    Frustrated
  • 0

    Angry