Sandeep falls at final hurdle

India, who had claimed two gold and a silver medal in the previous edition held in 2007, ended their campaign with a silver and three bronze medals this time around.

Sandeep was the lone Indian to make it to the finals after Namit Bahadur (50kg), Shiva Thapa (52kg) and Vikas Khatri (54kg) lost in the semis.

Against Soghomonyan, Sandeep was tied 1-1 with his rival at the end of the first round but it all went downhill for the Indian thereafter.

The second round belonged to Soghomonyan, who landed a flurry of punches to notch up five points and establish a 6-3 lead over Sandeep.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)