Sizzling Rosberg storms to pole

Sizzling Rosberg storms to pole

Formula One Russian Grand Prix : Hamilton hit by another engine failure

Sizzling Rosberg storms to pole

 Championship leader Nico Rosberg took full advantage of his Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton's continuing ill-fortune on Saturday when he secured a comfortable pole position for Sunday's Russian Grand Prix.

The 30-year-old German, who leads this year's title race by 36 points after winning the opening three races in succession, clocked a fastest lap in one minute and 35.417 seconds to take the prime spot on the grid.

This left him over seven-tenths of a second clear of Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari after defending three-time world champion Hamilton had been hit by another engine failure during the Q2 part of the qualifying session.

Hamilton was unable to take part in Q3 and provisionally will line up in 10th place on the grid.

For Rosberg, it was a second successive pole in Sochi and the 24th of his career, ensuring he has the best possible chance to tighten his grip in the championship.

Vettel, who had stopped on-track during the practice session, is expected to start from seventh on the grid because he has a five-place grid penalty for a gearbox change on his Ferrari.

Finn Valtteri Bottas of Williams outpaced compatriot Kimi Raikkonen in the second Ferrari to qualify third - and start second alongside Rosberg.

Raikkonen was fourth ahead of Felipe Massa in the second Williams, Daniel Ricciardo of Red Bull, Sergio Perez of Force India and local hero Daniil Kvyat who was eighth in the second Red Bull. Dutch teenager Max Verstappen was ninth for Toro Rosso with Hamilton 10th.

On a cool day at the Sochi Autodrom, all six drivers and cars from the Renault, Sauber and Manor teams were eliminated at the end of the Q1 session topped by Hamilton ahead of Rosberg and then the two Ferraris.

Russia Grand prix QUALIFYING

Driver    Team                   Time
1. Nico Rosberg (Germany)    Mercedes                   1:35.417   
2. Sebastian Vettel (Germany)    Ferrari                   1:36.123
3. Vatlterri Bottas (Finland)    Williams                   1:36.536
4. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland)    Ferrari                   1:36.663
5. Felipe Massa (Brazil)    Williams                   1:37.016
6. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia)    Red Bull                   1:37.125
7. Sergio Perez (Mexico)    Force India                   1:37.212
8. Daniil Kvyat (Russia)    Red Bull                   1:37.459
9. Max Verstappen (Netherlands)    Toro Rosso                   1:37.583
10. Lewis Hamilton (Britain)    Mercedes                           --

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)