N K Singh gets Japan's second highest national award

N K Singh gets Japan's second highest national award

N K Singh gets Japan's second highest national award

 Bureaucrat-turned-politician N K Singh was today honoured with Japan's second highest national decoration for his contribution in strengthening Indo-Japan ties in the field of trade and investment over last few decades.

The prestigious 'The Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star' award was conferred on Singh by Prime Minister Shinzo Abe at a glittering ceremony at the Imperial Palace here.

The award citation hailed Singh's role in boosting Indo- Japan economic ties, particularly in promoting Japanese investments into India over many years.

Awards were conferred on a total of 91 eminent personalities, including eight foreign recipients. The awardees also had an audience with Emperor of Japan Akihito.

75-year-old Singh is a politician, economist and former top bureaucrat. Till recently, he was a member of the Rajya Sabha. He has been among the country's top bureaucrats and handled important portfolios such as India's Expenditure and Revenue Secretary and as a Member of the erstwhile Planning Commission.

He had served in the Indian Embassy here as Minister (Economic and Commercial) from 1981-85.

Singh, while expressing his gratitude to the Japanese government for the honour, said Indo-Japan relationship is at the cusp of historical changes.

The economic and geo-political considerations will widen and deepen this relationship, fortified by the personal chemistry and new initiatives of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Japanese counterpart Abe, he said.

The Emperor on the occasion expressed his deep appreciation for the endeavour of the awardees for the development of Japan as well as for their contribution in enhancing the relationship between Japan and the international community.

'The Order of the Rising Sun' is a Japanese government honour established in 1875 by Emperor Meiji. A modern version of the order is being given to non-Japanese recipients beginning from 1981. It is conferred in recognition of distinguished accomplishments of an individual.