Raghu posts upset win for title; Apeksha bags double

Raghu posts upset win for title; Apeksha bags double

Eighth seed Raghu M upset top seed Balraj Kajla to lift the under-19 boys’ singles trophy at the Prakash M Kodavoor Memorial Junior State ranking badminton tournament here on Tuesday.

Raghu set aside Kajla 21-17, 14-21, 21-11 in the summit clash. In the corresponding girls’ event, it was a clash of the top two seeds and No 1 ranked Apeksha Nayak had to come from behind to defeat Archana Pai.

Apeksha lost the first game 12-21 but came strong to win the next two games and match, 21-10, 21-10 to clinch the game and the title.
Apeksha then combined with Archana to lift the under-19 girls’ doubles crown, beating Ananya Praveen and Medha Shashidharan.
The top-seeded pair defeated the second-seeded pair  19-21, 21-17, 21-18.

Results (all finals): Boys: Under-19: Singles: Raghu M bt Balraj Kajla 21-17, 14-21, 21-11.
Doubles: Kushal Raj S/ Rahul B Prasad bt Glanish Ashley Pinto/Saif Ali 21-19, 21-14.

Under-17: Singles: Mayuresh Janpandit bt Tejas Kallolkar 8-21, 21-18, 21-14.

Doubles: Mayuresh Janpandit/ Sai Pratheek Krishna Prasad bt Anirudh Rajeev/ Saketh Upadhya 21-16, 21-19.

Girls: Under-19: Apeksha Nayak bt Archana Pai 12-21, 21-10, 21-10.

Doubles: Apeksha Nayak/ Archana Pai bt Ananya Praveen/ Medha Shashidharan 19-21, 21-17, 21-18.

Under-17: Singles: Sheethal D bt Medha Shashidharan 21-15, 21-19.

Doubles: Ramya CV/ Sheethal D bt Aanchal Dhawan/ Deethya 21-14, 21-11.

Under-19: Mixed doubles: Kiran/ Apeksha Nayak bt Glanish Ashley Pinto/ Ashma Glancia Pinto 21-18, 21-19.