Friends Union triumph

Ten-run penalty does the trick for FUCC against SUCC in final

Friends Union triumph

 Friends Union Cricket Club (1), winners of the YSR Memorial Trophy cricket tournament. STANDING (L-R): Hemanth Kumar, M S Vinay, B Akhil, D V Anish, N Duraiswami (secretary), Sunil Raju, Sadiq Kirmani, M Nidish, B Savanth, Shyam  Ponnappa, C Sharath. SQUATTING: S Chethan, Pradeep Benjamin, Vinod M, Arjun Dev, K G Akshay, S Abhijit. DH PHOTO

Batting first, SUCC rode on Bharath Chipli’s sparkling ton to put up a daunting 301 all out in 49.1 overs. With M Nidish producing a three-figure score, FUCC came tantalisingly close to the target before being bowled out for 293 in 49.1 overs. Just when SUCC had begun their celebrations, the umpires awarded FUCC 10 penalty runs as the former were found to have bowled one over short in the stipulated time. The match was scheduled for a 5.10 pm finish, but it dragged on to 5.23 pm, helping FUCC sneak through by virtue of the penalty runs.

Chipli slammed a 136-ball 140 (16x4, 4x6) that was the cornerstone of SUCC’s big total. Besides the right-hander, CM Gautam too came good with the bat with a well-made 56. Sunil Raju finished with figures of four for 65 while B Akhil and DV Anish picked up two wickets each for FUCC. FUCC appeared up to the task, Nidish leading the charge with a run-a-ball 132 (14x4, 3x6). With Shyam Ponnappa (38) and Akhil (37) too chipping in with useful knocks, FUCC looked on course for a memorable win but fell short marginally. But as luck would have it, it was FUCC who had the last laugh.

Brief scores: Swastic Union Cricket Club (1): 301 all out in 49.1 overs (Raju Bhatkal 27, Bharath Chipli 140, CM Gautam 56; B Akhil 2-37, Anish DV 2-68, Sunil N Raju 4-65) lt to Friends Union Cricket Club (1): 293 all out in 49.1 overs (Shyam Ponnappa 38, M Nidish 132, Sunil N Raju 29, B Akhil 37, Sadiq Kirmani 31; NC Aiyappa 3-61, Raju Bhatkal 2-54). Friends Union Criciket Club were awarded 10 penalty runs for the former bowling one over short, and thus declared winners.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)