Laureus honour for Bolt, Serena

Laureus honour for Bolt, Serena

All smiles: British F1 driver Jenson Button after winning the World Breakthrough of the Year award on Wednesday. AFP

Sizzling tennis star Serena Williams, who bagged two Grand Slam titles — Australian Open and Wimbledon — last year won the Sportswoman of the Year Award and now stands only second to Roger Federer, who has so far won the Laureus Award four times.

Williams had won the Laureus Comeback Award in 2007, while Federer won the Sportsman of the Year award from 2005-2008. Reigning Formula One champion Jenson Button won the Breakthrough of the Year Award, while his  team of last year Brawn GP was named Laureus World Team of the Year. Belgium’s tennis sensation Kim Clijsters, who shocked the world by winning the US Open after returning from retirement, won the Co-meback of the Year Award.

South African swimmer Natalie Du Toit, who won five gold medals in the 2008 Summer Paralympics, won the Laureus Disability Award.

Academy member Nawal El Moutawakel received the Lifetime Achievement Award for her work for women in sport and the International Olympic committee.

Winners: World Sportsman of the Year: Usain Bolt.
World Sportswoman of the Year: Serena Williams.
World Team of the Year: Brawn GP Formula One.
World Breakthrough of the Year: Jenson Button.
World Comeback of the Year: Kim Clijsters.
World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Natalie du Toit.
World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Stephanie Gilmore.
Lifetime Achievement Award: Nawal El Moutawakel.
Sport for Good Award: Dikembe Mutombo.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)