Saif, Vidith bag gold

Swimming South Zone Aquatic meet : New mark for Saloni in 200 breaststroke

Saif, Vidith bag gold

Karnataka’s Saif Chandan KS, Vidith S Shankar and Saloni Dalal created new meet records in their respective categories on day two of the 29th South Zone Aquatic championship at the Suvarna JNMC swimming pool here on Saturday.

In the boys’ Group II, 800M freestyle, Saif clocked 9:12.11 seconds to erase the old mark of his state-mate Ajay K (9:15.31), set in 2010.

In the boys’ Group IV 50M  breaststroke, Vidith timed 39.37 seconds to grab top honours. He deleted the record of 39.43 seconds, created by Shoan Ganguly in 2016. Meanwhile, Saloni continued her rich vein of form and bagged  gold in the girls’ Group II 200M breaststroke event. She timed 2:50.99 seconds to rewrite the old record of 2:56.24 seconds, set by M Raghavi of Tamil Nadu in 2009.

Results: first place only: Group I: Boys: 200M freestyle: V S Gokulnath (TN) 2:04.25.
800M freestyle: Rayan Mohammed Meccai (Kar) 9:30.12.
200M backstroke: Nishanth Kumar (Kar) 2:23.76.
200M breaststroke: Pruthvik D S (Kar) 2:34.90.
50M butterfly: Kiran VM (Ker) 27.90.
200M butterfly: S M Shashi Kiran (Kar) 2:23.94.
4x100M freestyle: Karnataka 1, 3:56.42 (NMR; Old: 3:57.74) Tamil Nadu. 2011.
Group II: 200M freestyle: Saif Chandan K S (Kar) 2:05.55.
800M freestyle: Saif Chandan KS (Kar) 9:12.11, (NMR; Old: 9:15.31, Ajay A, Kar, 2010).        
200M backstroke: Bhavesh R (Kar) 2:24.53.
200M breaststroke: Kushal P (Kar) 2:40.35.           
50M butterfly: Prasidha Krishna P A (Kar) 27.95.
200M butterfly: Prasidha Krishna P A (Kar) 2:17.86.
4x100M freestyle: Karnataka 1, (4:01.90).
Group III: 50M backstroke: Dhyan Balakrishna (Kar) 33.03.
50M breaststroke: Kalp S Bohra (Kar) 36.42.
100M butterfly: Shoan Ganguly (Kar) 1:07.75.
4x50M medley: Karnataka 1 (2:08.24).
Group IV: 50M freestyle: Amey B Patil (Kar) 31.26.
50M breaststroke: Vidith S Shankar (Kar) 39.37 (NMR; Old: 39.43, Shoan Ganguly, Kar, 2016).   

4x50M medley: Karnataka 1, 2:24.07 (NMR; Old: 2:26.53, Tamil Nadu, 2011).   
Women: Group I: 200M freestyle: Spoorthi M J (Kar) 2:20.88.
800M freestyle: Sharon Mary Cherian (TN) 10:40.84.
200M backstroke: Jhanati Rajesh (Kar) 2:39.52.
200M breaststroke: Shriya R Bhat (Kar) 3:00.06.
50M butterfly: Vedika Navya Bhounsle (Kar) 33.46.
200M butterfly: Vedika Navya Bhounsle (Kar) 2:49.29.
4x100M freestyle: Karnataka 1,  (4:37.36)
Girls: Group II: 200M freestyle: Mayuri Lingaraj (Kar) 2:18.44.
800M freestyle: Poojitha G Murthy (Kar) 10:05.78.    
200M backstroke: Suvana C Baskar (Kar) 2:39.37.
200M breaststroke: Saloni Dalal (Kar) 2:50.99 (NMR; Old: 2:56.24, M Raghavi, TN, 2009).    
50M butterfly: Mayuri Lingaraj (Kar) 30.64.
200M butterfly: Mayuri Lingaraj (Kar) 2:37.85.
4x100M freestyle: Karnataka 1, (4:28.66)
Group III: 50M backstroke: Nina Venkatesh (Kar) 35.11.
50M breaststroke: Arushi Manjunath (Kar) 39.83.
100M butterfly: Adya Nayak (Kar) 1:13.68.
4x50M medley: Karnataka 1,  2:20.57.    
Group IV: 50M freestyle: Ridhima V K (Kar) 32.42.
50M breaststroke: Shriya Ishwar Prasad (TN) 40.45 (NMR; Old: 41.12, Damini K Gowda, Kar, 2010).        
4x50M medley: Karnataka 1, 2:30.16.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)