APMC polls: BJP wins nine seats; Congress four

APMC polls: BJP wins nine seats; Congress four

With majority seats, BJP-supported nominees set to rule again

 BJP-supported candidates have won nine posts of the total 13 in the elections to the posts of directors of Agriculture Produce Marketing Committee (APMC) in the taluk.

The counting of votes started at 8 am and was completed by noon. In all, 11 tables had been arranged for the purpose, with tahsildar Shivanna as the returning officer for the polls.

When the results were announced on Saturday, the BJP-backed nominees had won the majority seats. Congress’ nominees had won four, while Janata Dal (Secular) supported nominees could not open an account. Two candidates had been already elected unopposed.

Return to power
With this, the BJP is all set to return to rule the APMC, after it lost to Congress due to a party hopper in the previous term. In the last term, BJP-supported directors Venkatesh and Belavadi Raveendra were elected president for the first two terms, followed by Giddenhalli Ningegowda in the later period.

However, Ningegowda switched over to Congress party, although the BJP still held the reins. S T Chandregowda was at the helm for the last term.

At Kalaspura seat, Congress supported Jayamma won following a tacit understanding with JD(S). The other two winners are Congress candidates K R Sujeya Subrayagowda from Khandya and A K Prakash from Vastare.

Although elections were not held under any party banners for the APMC, the workers of prominent parties contested the polls, helping the leaders gauge the performance of the parties at grass root-level. Besides, it assumes significance for the hustings, sometimes matching the magnitude of Assembly polls.

Money spent
According to some leaders, the demonetisation ahead of the polls had least impact on the elections, as the candidates spent lakhs of rupees only to lure the voters with wine and money. In some of the villages, sumptuous food with non-vegetarian dishes was served to keep the vote bank intact. There are instances of candidates spending not less than Rs 10 lakh to Rs 12 lakh, although there were caps on withdrawal of money from banks.

When the results trickled in, the supporters of winning candidates celebrated with much fanfare by bursting fire crackers and distributing sweets among the workers.