Council bypoll: vote counting today

Counting of votes for the bypoll held to the Southeast Teachers’ constituency of the Legislative Council will be taken up from 8 am in Bengaluru on Monday. Elaborate security arrangements have been made at the Government Arts College, Bengaluru, where the counting process will be taken up.

As many 17 candidates including T N Niranjan of the Congress, P R Basavaraju of the BJP and Ramesh Babu of the JD (S) are testing their electoral fortunes. On polling day (February 3), 85.46%  of the 21,354 voters cast their votes in the constituency spread over the districts of Kolar, Chikkaballapur, Tumakuru, Chitradurga and parts of Davangere. Results are expected to be out by evening.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)