2 additional judges appointed to High Court

 Former judge of the Karnataka Lokayukta Special Court K N Sudhindra Rao and district court judge Dr H B Prabhakara Sastry have been appointed as additional judges to the Karnataka High Court.

A notification was issued on Friday by the Ministry of Law and Justice appointing them as additional judges for two years. 

Rao is known for his tenure at the Lokyukta Special Court for hearing private complaints and sending many politicians, ministers and officials to jail in corruption cases. He is serving as Registrar (Recruitment) in the Karnataka High Court. Dr Sastry is serving as the presiding officer at the Karnataka State Transport Appellate Tribunal.

Both these judges were appointed as district judges in 2002.  Two high court judges, Justice S Abdul Nazeer and Justice Mohan M Shantanagoudar were sworn in as Supreme Court judges following their elevation. Justice Shantanagoudar was recently appointed as the Chief Justice of Kerala and has been elevated to the Supreme Court now. Justice Nazeer has been directly appointed to the apex court. He was the fourth senior most judge in the Karnataka High Court.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)