HASC, BEML carry State's I-League ambitions

The two Bangalore-based outfits will clash with five other teams from Kerala in Group A on league basis at the Karnataka State Football stadium. Simultaneously, seven teams in Group B will battle in Delhi while another seven in Group C will clash at Tinfukia, Assam.

The top two teams from each group will be joined by last year’s I-League relegated teams -- Mohammedan Sporting and Vasco Sports Club -- in the final round at a venue and date to be decided. During the final round too, teams will slug it out on league basis with the winner and runner-up earning a ticket to I-League.

“With great difficulty we have managed to get HASC and BEML to play the I-League Division II,” said KSFA president AR Khaleel. “It is upto them now to play well as well meet all the necessary conditions set by All India Football Federation to realise their dream of playing in the I-League,” added Khaleel, stressing on the need for both the clubs to register themselves as a separate ‘commercial entity’ -- one of the guidelines set by the AIFF for I-League aspirants.

“June 30 is the last date for teams to fulfil all the conditions. Even if a team emerges winner in the second division but has failed to meet the guidelines they will not be allowed to play in I-League,” said Khaleel.


Meanwhile, the State under-19 squad that won the Dr BC Roy trophy at Mandya in January and under-16 team that finished runners-up in the Mir Iqbal Hussain trophy at Gurgaon will be felicitated at the KSFA stadium on April 17.

Teams: At Bangalore: Group A: BEML, HASC, Malabar United Football Club, Travancore Titanium Products, Golden Threads, SBT, Chandni Football Club.
At Delhi: Group B: Amity United, Hindustan Football Club, ND Heroes, Simla Youngs, Sesa Football Academy, ONGC, INFC.
At Tinfukia: Group C: Guwahati Town Club, Oil India, JCB Bhillai Brothers, Ar-Hima Football Club, Denzong Boyz, NISA, Mumbai United.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)