New cases against nine naxals

On March 17 a new FIR had been prepared against underworld Naxals Mandgaru Lata, Hosgadde Prabha, Neelaguli Padmanabha, Kalpana alias Vanjakshi, Mahesh alias Umesh, Nirmala alias Rizwan Begum, Kanyakumari and Vikram Gowda. The charges against them include attacking Sringeri police station, ignoring the court’s proclamation and absconding from the day they were summoned in court.

Another case has been registered under IPC Section 229A against naxal leaders Mahesh and Vanajakshi in the Kuduremukh police station.  They are facing charges for not appearing in court after they had obtained bail in Mudigere court on August 11, 2004.

A case under section 174A has been foisted against 38 accused and one under section 229A against 16 accused. For the charges of ignoring the court’s proclamation under Section 174A they can be sentenced to seven years imprisonment or a fine or both. This is a non-bailable offence. The investigators will have the right to file a suo motu case against them after completing the investigation.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)